India News
Search Web Directory
News Home
After IOC, govt to sack independent directors of ONGC, HPCL, MRPL
Posted on 1st September 2014
After sacking four independent directors of Indian Oil Corporation (IOC), the Narendra Modi-government is now seeking to remove nine similar Congress-appointees from the boards of Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited (HPCL) and Mangalore Refinery and Petrochemicals Limited (MRPL).

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government is reviewing all appointments made by the previous United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government during its last year in office and is removing the political appointees wherever possible, sources said.

After getting IOC, the nation's largest oil firm, to drop four independent directors and Engineers India Ltd (EIL) to boot out two, it is now seeking to sack former power secretary P Uma Shankar, chartered accountant S Ravi and former Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited Chairman R K Singh from the board of ONGC.

It also wants chartered accountant Rohit Khanna to be removed from the board of HPCL.

Also, chartered accountant C L Shah, former IAS officer Neela Gangadharan, Indian Institute of Science Professor Jayant M Modak, Professor of Marketing at Banaras Hindu University Usha Kiran Rai and ship master Capt. John Prasad Menezes are being sought to be removed from board of MRPL, a subsidiary of ONGC.

Sources said the removal is being done in the same manner as was the case in IOC - by not getting a resolution for their appointment approved by the shareholders at annual general meetings (AGMs) of the companies.

IOC did not move a resolution for confirmation of appointment of K Jairaj, Nesar Ahmad, Sunil Krishna and Sayan Chatterjee at its AGM in Mumbai on August 27.

In absence of shareholder approval the four, who were appointed by the previous UPA government in March this year for a three year term, ceased to be directors on IOC board.

The same mode was used to remove former HPCL director for human resources V Vizia Saradhi and former law secretary D R Meena from board of EIL.

The two were appointed for a three-year term on November 13, 2013 and EIL did not take a resolution confirming their appointment to its AGM held on August 28.

Sources said according to the Companies Act, all appointments made to board of a company by promoters or otherwise, are valid only till holding of shareholders meeting. Once the shareholders approve, their appointment is formalised.

While Rohit Khanna was appointed part-time non official (independent) director on the Board of HPCL on September 27, 2013, the five directors being removed in MRPL were appointed on October 22 last year for three years.

Sources said UPA Cadre IAS officer of 1976 batch, P Uma Shankar, who retired as Power Secretary last year, along with S Ravi and R K Singh were appointed on ONGC board on November 29, 2013.

Other independent directors on board of ONGC -- Prof Samir Kumar Barua of IIM-Ahmedabad and former State Bank of India (SBI) Chairman O P Bhatt, who were appointd on December 13, 2011, continue to be directors on its board.

Related Companies:    Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd.(HPCL)   

Other Latest News
Donald Trump to visit India from February 24-26: Reports
Posted on 29th January 2020

According to media reports, US President Donald Trump is likely to visit India between February 24 and 26. No official announcement of the dates has been done yet.

Keeping the trade as the top priority in this visit, India and the US are likely to sign the much-awaited trade deal, set to be finalised soon, during this visit. Negotiations for this deal have been going on for months.

Badminton star and Olympic medallist Saina Nehwal joins BJP today
Posted on 29th January 2020

Noted Indian Badminton player and Olympic-bronze medalist Saina Nehwal joins the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday noon at the party's headquarters in New Delhi.

Apart from Nehwal, her sister Chandranshu also joined the party.

They joined the party in presence of Party's National General Secretary Arun Singh.

Rail-related stocks in focus; IRCTC, IRCON hit new lifetime highs
Posted on 29th January 2020

Shares of railway-related companies which are state-owned, such as Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC), IRCON International, and Rites, have outperformed the markets since the last Union Budget on July 5, 2019.

From the private sector, Hind Rectifiers and Siemens, too, outpaced the benchmarks during the period. The S&P BSE Sensex was up 3.7 per cent since July 5 last year. However, Larsen & Toubro, Kernex Microsystems, NBCC, and Texmaco Rail were down in the range of 13 per cent to 41 per cent on the BSE.

British Airways suspends all flights to China over coronavirus outbreak
Posted on 29th January 2020

British Airways has suspended all direct flights to and from mainland China after Britain warned against all but essential travel to the country due to the coronavirus outbreak., the airline's website, shows no direct flights to China are available in January and February.

Nirbhaya case: SC dismisses petition filed by convict Mukesh against rejection of mercy petition by President
Posted on 29th January 2020

The Supreme Court on Wednesday dismissed the petition filed by 2012 Delhi gangrape convict Mukesh against the rejection of mercy petition by the President.

The three-judge bench of Justice R Banumathi, Ashok Bhushan pronounced the judgment, saying alleged torture can't be a ground, all documents were placed before the President and he had taken them into consideration.

» Post a FREE Classified Advertisement
Inviting Real Estate Agents, Job Placements Agents, Educational Institutes, Software Service Providers, Real Estate Builders, Marriage Bureaus, Travel Agents, Restaurant Owners, Health & Fitness Centers and other Local Businesses to Post a FREE Classified Advertisement on Classifieds Website.
Jobs in India India Real Estate Automobiles Matrimonials Beauty & Fitness

Add a comment for After IOC, govt to sack independent directors of ONGC, HPCL, MRPL
Please only use this form to enter comments on the above company. All comments are reviewed before they are displayed on the web site. Not all comments may be displayed. Check back with us to see if your comments have been displayed.
If you want us to email the comments posted by users, please Subscribe by email
Security Code*

Be the first person to write a business review for After IOC, govt to sack independent directors of ONGC, HPCL, MRPL

Most Read News

Citizenship Act: SC refuses to grant stay, gives Centre four weeks to reply

Cement shares gain; Ramco Cements hits 52-week high,Heidelberg Cement up 5%

Havells India hits 52-week low on weak December quarter results

Axis Bank jumps 3% as Q3 loan growth hits 7-qtr high, NIM best in 2.5 yrs

Nifty CPSE index slips 3%; IOCL, Oil India hit 52-week lows

More India News

  India Web Directory
Business Profiles
Automotive Directory
IT/ITES/BPO Directory
Hotel Directory
Health Directory
Business Directory
Gems & Jewellery
Education Directory
Real Estate Directory
Agriculture Directory
Logistics Directory
Yellow Pages
NRI Guide
Photo Galleries
Global Web Directory
*** FREE India Classifieds
Order Premium Listings
Submit a Site
Business Reviews
About us
Link to us
Contact us
Google Search Keywords: India Catalog, IndiaCatalog, India Web Directory
    © 1999 - 2020
    All Rights Reserved
Privacy Statement